A very bad year for the youth national teams

November 17, 2009

For many years Carlos Bilardo campaigned for his players from the 1986 World Cup to be brought as managers to all levels of the national team. These players who eventually became managers are refered to by the Argentine media as the “86 Generation”.

Players like Jorge Luis Burruchaga, Hector Enrique, Sergio Batista, Jose Luis Brown, Nery Pumpido, Oscar Garre, Julio Olarticochea.

Bilardo’s argument to Grondona over the years was that those players deserved an opportunity to work with the national team because of their achievement in winning the 1986 World Cup. It was a historical right that they had earned.

While Grondona agreed on principle and said publicly that he thought it was a good idea for the 86 Generation to get their chance to work with the national team, he held off time after time on giving his official approval.

All of that changed when Maradona was hired as national team manager and Bilardo as national team coordinator. Everything fell in place, the conditions were right and the time had finally come to bring many from the 86 Generation to manage at all levels of the national team.

Sergio Batista took over as manager of the U-20 team.

Jose Luis Brown took over as manager of the U-17 team.

Oscar Garre took over as manager of the U-15 team.

Unfortunately, the youth national teams performances this year under their leadership have been very poor.

The most glaring and biggest failure was the U-20 team, which did not even qualify to the U-20 World Cup.

For a country like Argentina that’s won six U-20 World Cup’s, it is an enormous embarrassment and historical failure to not qualify to that tournament.

The U-15 team also did not qualify to the U-15 World Cup.

And the U-17 did qualify to the World Cup but lost to Colombia despite having a 2-0 lead in the game and was eliminated from the tournament.

It is a first in Argentine football history that all three youth national teams have produced such dismal results.

In the aftermath of this year’s failures, some questions need to be asked:

Should the 86 Generation be given a second chance and continue managing the youth teams?

Should the 86 Generation be fired and a brand new coaching staff be hired immediately?

Should Pekerman & Tocalli be brought back to restore the prestige and winning tradition of the youth teams?

Will Maradona’s status as national team manager help maintain the 86 Generation in charge of all the youth national teams?

All things seem to indicate that Grondona will not make any moves at the moment and will keep Batista, Brown and Garre in charge of their respective teams.

Whether changes are made or not, one thing is certain, the shadow of Pekerman & Tocalli looms very large these days over AFA.

Argentina’s U-20 World Cup Wins

July 23, 2007

Argentina has now won 6 U-20 World Cups and it has won 5 out of the last 7 editions of the U-20 World Cup.

All 6 World Cup winning teams:

Japón 1979: Sergio García, Juan Meza, Daniel Sperandio, Abelardo Carabelli, Rubén Rossi, Rafael Seria, Jorge Piaggio, Juan Simón, Osvaldo Rinaldi, Alfredo Torres, Marcelo Bachino, Hugo Alves, Juan Barbas, Osvaldo Escudero, José Lanao, Ramón Díaz, Diego Maradona y Gabriel Calderón. Director técnico: César Luis Menotti.

Qatar 1995: Joaquín Irigoytía, Gastón Pezzuti, Federico Domínguez, Juan Pablo Sorin, Sebastián Pena, Mariano Juan, Guillermo Larrosa, Wálter Coyette, Ariel Ibagaza, Gustavo Lombardi, Leonardo Biagini, Francisco Guerrero, Julio César Bayon, Andrés Garrone, Cristian Díaz, Germán Arangio, Diego Crosa y Cristian Chaparro. Director técnico: José Néstor Pekerman.

Malasia 1997: Leonardo Franco, Leandro Cufré, Walter Samuel, Juan José Serrizuela, Esteban Cambiasso, Diego Markic, Diego Quintana, Juan Román Riquelme, Bernardo Romeo, Pablo Aimar, Pablo Rodríguez, Cristian Muñóz, Fabián Cubero, Diego Placente, Martín Perezlindo, Nicolás Diez, Sebastián Romero y Lionel Scaloni. Director técnico: José Néstor Pekerman.

Argentina 2001: Germán Lux, Nicolás Burdisso, Julio Arca, Mauro Cetto, Nicolás Medina, Fabricio Coloccini, Javier Saviola, Oscar Ahumada, Esteban Herrera, Leandro Romagnoli, Maximiliano Rodríguez, Gerardo Seltzer, Diego Colotto, Leonardo Ponzio, Andrés D’Alessandro, Mauro Rosales, Alejandro Domínguez, Wilfredo Caballero y Sebastián Bueno. Director técnico: José Néstor Pekerman.

Holanda 2005: Oscar Ustari, Gustavo Cabral, Lautaro Formica, Julio Barroso, Juan Manuel Torres, Gabriel Paletta, Lucas Biglia, Pablo Zabaleta, Pablo Vitti, Patricio Pérez, Emiliano Armenteros, Nereo Champagne, Ezequiel Garay, David Abraham, Rodrigo Archubi, Neri Cardozo, Fernando Gago, Lionel Messi, Sergio Agüero, Gustavo Oberman y Nicolás Navarro. Director técnico: Francisco Ferraro.

Canadá 2007: Sergio Romero, Federico Fazio, Emiliano Insúa, Gabriel Mercado, Ever Banega, Matías Cahais, Claudio Yacob, Matías Sánchez, Mauro Zárate, Sergio Agüero, Damián Escudero, Javier García, Germán Voboril, Leonardo Sigali, Alejandro Cabral, Alejandro Gómez, Maximiliano Moralez, Angel Di María, Pablo Piatti, Lautaro Acosta y Bruno Centeno. Director técnico: Hugo Tocalli.

Banega the unsung hero

July 23, 2007

The best player in the Final.

Ever Banega as central midfielder became the team’s playmaker, leading the attack, doing a great job distributing the ball, making a brilliant pass to Aguero that led to the first goal. Banega was also outstanding defensively. A solid presence in the middle.

Another great #5 in the making.

Maxi Gigante

July 23, 2007

Maxi Moralez was also one of Argentina’s best players, great performance in the Final and one of the best players in the U-20 World Cup.

Maxi won the Silver Ball award for second best player in the World Cup and he won the Bronze shoe for the third top goal scorer in the World Cup.

Argentina Champions Celebration!

July 23, 2007


U-20 World Cup Final Goals

July 23, 2007

Argentina 2-1 Czech Republic

Argentina wins a record 6th U-20 World Cup.

Agüero Best Player of U-20 World Cup

July 23, 2007

Just like Diego Maradona, Javier Saviola and Lionel Messi before him, Sergio Agüero won the Golden Ball award for best player of the U-20 World Cup.

Agüero also won the Golden Shoe award as the Top Goal Scorer of the World Cup.

GRANDE KUN !!!!!!!!