Ruggeri Interview


Part 1


Part 2

In this interview Oscar Ruggeri talks about Messi’s poor form with the national team, the Argentina backline and midfield, Maradona’s lack of coaching experience compared to other coaches in the World Cup and discusses Brasil, Spain, England, and Germany.

27 Responses to Ruggeri Interview

  1. mauricef says:

    pintado, I don’t hnow if it is beyond you but is there anyway you can translate these interviews into english. I want to hear what the people being interviewed have to say in detail.

  2. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Hi Mauricef, no problem.

    I’ll post the most important points that Ruggeri made in this interview.

    I’ll do so later today.

    The Inter-Chelsea game is about to start 🙂

  3. Quico882k3 says:

    The way it looks Ruggeri has a rich knowledge that can help Maradona hopefully he becomes part of the staff.

  4. Chris says:

    Whats up ron !

    first off, FORRRZA INTER !!!!! we can do it again !

    second,

    whats your opinion on Ruggeri??? do you think he can become a great asset to the NT???

    • pintadoazulblanco says:

      Chris, I think that Ruggeri would contribute alot more to the national team than Mardadona’s current assistant.

      Ruggeri’s extensive national team experience, leadership abilities and managing experience are being wasted.

      I think he would be an asset but Grondona will not allow him to join the coaching staff.

      • pintadoazulblanco says:

        I actually met Ruggeri.

        Back in 1991, my cousin, who was playing for Argentinos Juniors at the time, took me to a mall and Ruggeri was hanging out in the food court section with Fernando Gamboa.

        I went up to Ruggeri and started talking to him and asked him for his autograph. Ruggeri talked to me and autographed a napkin for me. He talked to everyone that approached him and signed autographs.

        Gamboa on the other hand was a total jerk. He wouldn’t talk to anyone and refused to sign autographs.

        This was at a time when Gamboa was a well known player with Newell’s Old Boys (Sorry Chris) so perhaps the fame had gone to his head but he left a bad impression.

  5. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Hey Chris,

    No doubt, rooting for an Inter win.

    A boring game so far but Inter is playing very smart and calmly.

    Defending with both lines and counterattacking when possible.

    Walter Samuel is playing superbly so far.

    I would like to see a Milito goal in the second half.

  6. pintadoazulblanco says:

    I’ll talk about Ruggeri after the game.

  7. Chris says:

    I read in a article that Diego is there…
    how’s Zanetti and Cuchu doin ?

    has the cameras focused on diego thru out the game?

    I hope he’s considering Pupi .

  8. pintadoazulblanco says:

    The camera’s didn’t show Maradona.

    Samuel was outstanding.

    Cambiasso and Zanetti played well.

    Milito had a few scoring chances but couldn’t get it done.

  9. mauricef says:

    Every Argentine played well today at stamford bridge. This season is the first season that I have seen so many Argentine’s do so well hope they continue it in the world cup even Diego Perotti scored for Sevilla even though cska moscow knocked them out. MIND YOU, HOPE THEY CONTINUE THERE FORM IN THE WORLD CUP, IF THE CLUELESS ONE PICKS THEM. Even Ruggeri barring injury would already have them in his starting eleven. By the way pintado, have you got the important points ruggeri made in the interview?

  10. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Ruggeri said:

    “I’m talking to Diego alot about Messi’s poor form with the national team. I think he’s very identified in the way that Barcelona plays and the national team plays totally different. I think that Diego needs to make him understand that national team players have to adapt to all systems and have to play football because he knows how to do it and he’s the best.”

    “In my opinion there is a need for a really good meeting with the players and for everyone to look at each others face and say to themselves clearly, if Messi has to be the most important player, then lets make him the most important player because he can make us World Champions.”

    “That’s what we did in 1986 with Maradona.”

    “The main thing is for these kids to get together and for them to understand that it could be the last World Cup for many of them and say what needs to be said to everyone’s face. That’s what’s missing”

    “I look at them, I see Messi for example, looking sad on the field with the national team. Barcelona’s system is playing with three forwards, plays are created for Messi to finish. In the national team he has to take control of the ball and try to finish a play because he has to touch the ball from farther back or he receives the ball with a player all over him. He’s not as close to the opponents area like in Barcelona. Like I said, it is very important that the players meet behind closed doors and discuss that problem. And make Messi happy, he needs to leave the field happy.”

    “If I had the opportunity now like we had in 1986, we had the best player in the world and we knew what the defenders had to do, defend our zone and give Maradona the ball.”

  11. pintadoazulblanco says:

    More from Ruggeri:

    “In the World Cup rarely does a team with a lead lose. When a team is winning a game, rarely does the score change the other way, worst case there is a tie. That’s why Diego understands clearly that as long as Argentina does not allow a goal it has players that can score a goal. I talked to Diego and he is going to wait for Marcos Angeleri (Estudiantes right-back) until the very last minute.”

    ” I think Diego found the backline that he wants. The backline is solid. Demichelis came out of the game and Burdisso came in and played great. The other team’s forwards know that there is a complicated defense in front of them, very tough, that it will be very difficult to score a goal against them. Also, all four center-backs can head the ball, which has been a weakness for Argentina.”

    “Samuel has played in all types of Finals and with the Argentina shirt. They’ve all played games with the Argentina shirt except Otamendi but he gives you the feeling that he’s been playing for a long time.”

  12. pintadoazulblanco says:

    “On the left side of the midfield we have Di Maria who can score goals, he plays well and can score goals.”

    “Jonas has different characteristics. What’s missing is more diagonal runs, being inside the opponents area more but those are not his characteristics.”

    “Veron gives the team the pause, tranquility, the amount of football normally given by a playmaker that Argentina does not have today but keep in mind Pastore. Because Diego is seriously considering him for the team. Diego is also looking for someone in the right midfield spot that can attack and score goals.”

  13. pintadoazulblanco says:

    “We’ve gone to World Cups with very competent managers and we returned with Bielsa in the first round. We returned with Pekerman, with Passarella too. If Argentina does not finish among the top four then it is no good. It is not about coaching experience.”

    “It’s convincing these players that they are the best, that they have a world cup in front of them that is the best thing that could happen to them. Of course you cannot make bad tactical moves or a wrong player substitution in a World Cup.”

    “In the World Cup you can play the first three games, lose one, win two and advance to the next round. We’re talking about winning six games and losing one game to become World Champions.”

  14. Humbird says:

    You MET OSCAR RUGGERI OMG Squeeeeeeeee.

    OK, I’ve recovered.

    Why do I seem to remember some sort of problem between Ruggeri and Maradona, especially between 1993 and 1994 when half the team supported him as Captain (he had been captain for a while) and Maradona who showed up for WC 1994 and became captain. I’m not sure those two could every work together.

    In other news, Argentina are on the cover of the new 442 Magazine.

    • pintadoazulblanco says:

      Maradona & Ruggeri have had fights as teammates and as former players.

      They’ve always reconciled.

      I buy 442 once in a while, the last one I got had Messi on the cover.

      I’ll stop by Barnes & Noble this weekend and see if they have the latest issue.

  15. Chris says:

    LOL, no worries Ron, 🙂
    the guy does seem like an ASS anyway..

    Chacarita aren’t doin too well (i think) with him as coach, so thats what he gets for being stuck up back in the day.

  16. Chris says:

    pretty awesome that you met the guy… thats actually cool of him to be down to earth like that, looking at the guy, he doesn’t seem too friendly, but as we all know, looks can be deceiving.

    Thats always been one of my dreams, to either meet one of our players, or even to have the oppurtunity to be on the field during one of their practices, that would be amazing..

    I met Maxi Rodriguez once back in 2002 when i went to Rosario for the WC (worst memory of my life BTW), this was the same time Maxi had just got transffered to Espanyol. he’s actually my cousins best friends Brother in law. got a autographed picture of him when they thru him a going away party from his family, and he signed one of my NOB T Shirts.. i still have it..i always remember my cousins buddy always telling me what a tightwad Maxi was.. lol..
    also, my dad went to argentina last year, and brought me back a signed NOB jersey from all the players on the team.. some known ones are (which im sure no one cares 🙂 : Schiavi, Pillud,Formica, Bernardi, and others.

    anyone on the blog met anyone or took photos with some of our players that you can share with ?

    Ron, you have any pictures of players you’ve met that you can possibly upload and share with us?

    sorry everyone, dont mean to sound all cheesey, kinda got stuck in the passed for a moment there, brought back good memories.

    • pintadoazulblanco says:

      Thanks for sharing that with us.

      Very cool.

      I’m not sure if Maxi will play in the upcoming WC.

      I have two cousins that came up with Argentinos Juniors and made it to first division.

      My younger cousin was an outstanding player, he was a #5 and actually played on the national team in a U-17 world cup.

      He used to take me to the team practices.

      I met Sergio Batista, who played in the 1986 WC and is currently the U-20 manager. I met el Negro Caceres who played in the 1994 WC and who unfortunately was shot recently by some armed robbers but he has survived the incident. I also met Carlos McAllister who played on the national team during Basile’s first stint as manager.

      I met Walter Perazzo who was a known goal scorer back then in Argentina.

      These were the most famous of my cousin’s teammates.

      I have lots of pictures but I’m not sure how to upload the pictures.

      They were not taken with a digital camera because such a thing did not exist back then 🙂

  17. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Seriously, Gamboa was really obnoxious and full of himself.

    Ruggeri was the complete opposite.

    If I remember right, Gamboa was one of the best young defenders in Argentina at that time and may have been Champion with Newell’s.

    He was standing next to Ruggeri and just shaking his head to people like “NO, leave me alone.”

  18. pintadoazulblanco says:

    I also met Cesar Luis Menotti.

    I went to DC during the 1996 Olympics to see the Argentina-Portugal game.

    Menotti was doing TV commentary with Quique Wolff and before the game he walked up to the front row to talk to the fans and sign autographs. He signed the Argentina cap that I was wearing. I asked him what was wrong with Argentina, at that time the team was not playing well with Passarella as manager. He told me “Don’t worry ,the national team will find the way and get back on track.”

    Not a very original response but I was thrilled to talk to the first Argentine manager to win the World Cup.

    I took alot of pictures of that game. I got great close up shots of el Burrito Ortega taking a corner kick (he scored a great goal from inside the box), Crespo (who missed a PK in that game!!!), Zanetti, Simeone, and others.

  19. pintadoazulblanco says:

    I also saw Batistuta up close.

    Fiorentina played against the MetroStars in a friendly.

    There were of course tons of Argentina fans there and before the game during warm ups, all the fans in the section where I was, near the midfield, were yelling for him to come over and he did and I was able to take some good pictures.

    During the second half my cousin and I moved to the section behind the MetroStars goal and I got a great picture of Bati scoring a goal, with a header.

  20. chris says:

    dude,

    thats pretty awesome man, very lucky, im sure you’ll cherish those moments…
    funny that you mention bati, he was actually my idol/hero (watever u want to call it) growing up as a kid. that guy was an amazing striker !

    if you ever get a chance, it’ll be pretty cool if you can share those photos with us, if you figure out a way.
    thanks Ron.

    chat with everyone again in the A.M.

  21. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Yeah, Bati was an amazing player and a real class act.

    One of the all-time greats to wear the Argentina shirt.

  22. Humbird says:

    none of his four sons seems to be involved in football, unless I missed something.

  23. pintadoazulblanco says:

    I believe so.

    For whatever reason they are not football players.

Leave a Reply

