Pepsi commercial featuring Messi

12 Responses to Pepsi commercial featuring Messi

  1. Chris says:

    LOL, I saw this yesterday on as.com, pretty good commercial…

  2. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Chris, Which football websites do you read regularly?

  3. Chris says:

    Hi Ron,
    well first, I’ll read yours.

    then i’ll read the following,

    diario ole.
    as.com.
    goal.com.
    clarin.com.ar.
    or lacapital.com.ar.

    not to brown nose,but I enjoy your blog the most, because this is where I can do most of my complaining, and I enjoy everyones debates and opinions.. for the most part, I think most of us are all on the same page…..to be honest with you, all the websites say pretty much the same thing, i just like to read them on different sites. : )

    oh, then I’ll do my cnn.com after im done reading all my soccer news… lol

    how bout u? any interesting ones out there that you can possibly recommend?

  4. pintadoazulblanco says:

    I always read up on Futbol Argentino news first before anything else. Ole, Clarin, La Nacion’s sports website Cancha Llena, they have a great team of football writers and the TyC Sports website.

    After that, I read MARCA and Diario SPORT because I follow La Liga closely. I also read the sports sections of the Madrid newspapers El Pais & El Mundo and the sports sections of the Catalan newspapers La Vanguardia & El Periodico de Catalunya, Cruyff has a good blog on the website.

    It’s really entertaining to follow the rivalry & bashing that goes on between the Madrid & Catalan media.

    I read alot of blogs too.

    Yes I know, I have way too much time on my hands 🙂

    I would recommend Tim Vickery’s blog on the BBC website. He covers South American football and is unusually knowledgeable and unbiased, for an English football journalist, when writing about Argentine football.

    The NY Times soccer blog usually has good articles but it mostly covers the US national team and the MLS, not that there’s anything wrong with that.

  5. Chris says:

    lol funny that you mention Madrid,

    I go directly on the the Real Madrid website to catch RM’s news..

    also, not sure if you know about it,

    todayfoot.com
    or
    poklok.net.

    these two sites im on all the time. these sites show the highlites of pretty much every match that is played. Todayfoot.com updates the highlites within minutes that the game is over.. this is normally where I catch all the highlites and goals right away.
    if i were to wait for the american or spanish news, i’ll never get to see what I want, or they wont show it till the end of the day.. and you know how the spanish news is, if it has nothing to do with Mexico’s team or players, they wont show it. well at least thats how it is out here in cali, not sure bout in the east coast.

    • pintadoazulblanco says:

      Thanks for those recomendations. I will check them out.

      Yep, as you know watching the sports news on Univision or Telemundo you are going to get mostly coverage of the Mexican national team and the Mexican league. It’s the same on the east coast.

      Mexican corporations control the Spanish language airwaves in the US.

      Unfortunately, that’s the way it is.

      But thankfully I don’t have to rely on that.

      The cable provider where I live offers GOL TV, Fox Sports en Espanol, ESPN Deportes and FOX Soccer Channel.

  6. Chris says:

    dude, good lookin out on marca.com and diario sport. pretty good sites !

  7. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Thanks again for your kind words and support of the blog.

    I started the blog four years ago and the level of participation was slow for the first two years.

    It was really frustrating.

    That was one of the reasons why I stopped blogging for more than a year.

    It wasn’t until 2009 that people started to comment and participate actively on the blog.

    It’s alot more fun and I’m very appreciative of everyone that reads the blog and participates in the discussions.

    What is really awesome too is that Argentina fans from all over the world view the blog.

    It’s great that the national team has a world wide fan base.

  8. River Fan says:

    i really like this blog. I first read Ole then I go to La Nacion to check out the depressing political situation in Arg, then I go to Cancha Llena (the sports page for La Nacion) and Clarin. Riverplate.com-the non official river site. I also check out Marca and El Pais to read about the Argentinos abroad, but the argentine press does a good job of covering it too.

    As for this Commercial, I finid it funny that Henry is in there. Wouldn’t think sponsors would be after him after the Irish incident. I also noticed Arshavin is in there and he’s not going to the WC.

  9. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Thanks River Fan.

    La Nacion made a really smart move by creating Cancha Llena, to challenge Ole’s reign as the premier sports website in Argentina.

    The writing talent that La Nacion has is far better than anyone writing for Ole.

    The writing in Ole is so sensasionalist and extremely unbiased and it continues to get worse every year.

    The difference in the quality of the writing and football analysis between both websites is like night and day.

    My only critique of Cancha Llena is that its coverage of Futbol Argentino is limited. Maybe they don’t have the resources that Ole has but if Cancha Llena extended its coverage of the Argentine league it would become the numer one sports website in Argentina.

    Anyhow, it is time that another website challenged Ole.

    I also found it odd to see Henry in a major commercial but the uproar over the Ireland game did not last very long anyhow.

  10. Humbird says:

    I noticed a change in Ole about 2 or 3 years ago. I started reading it in about 1999, but felt like something was different and the quality was not as good as it had been. I’m glad someone else isn’t a big fan of Ole.

  11. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Hopefully, more websites will appear in Argentina that will provide quality coverage and top notch writing/analysis of Argentine football like Cancha Llena.

    I’ve been sick and tired for years now that Ole’s been the only game in town.

    They’ve been unchallenged in readership for too long.

Leave a Reply

