Gago out of World Cup squad

No World Cup for Fernando Gago.

According to a report published in La
Nacion, while in Madrid to celebrate his grandson’s birthday, Maradona spoke to Gago and told him:

“You haven’t been playing regularly in the last three months. You had an opportunity to look for another club but I don’t know why it didn’t happen”.

“It is very difficult that you’ll be going to the World Cup”.

This is probably a decision by Maradona that we can all agree on.

Gago’s been out of the Madrid lineup for several months now and has been mostly sitting on the bench.

Fortunately, Argentina has many options in the central midfield position with players like Mascherano, Banega, Bolatti and there are others.

Maradona a Gago: “Es muy difícil que vayas al Mundial”

El técnico de la selección argentina aprovechó un viaje familiar a Madrid para hablar con el volante de Real Madrid; “Hace tres meses que no tenés continuidad”, le dijo

Tal como había prometido, Diego Maradona se está reuniendo en persona con los jugadores de la selección argentina, para confirmarles que irán a Sudáfrica, o bien que sus chances son escasas. En este último grupo está hoy Fernando Gago, volante de Real Madrid.

“Hace tres meses que no tenés continuidad. Tuviste la chance de buscarte otro club, pero no sé por qué no se dio y es muy difícil que vayas al Mundial”, fueron las palabras de Maradona hacia el ex Boca, quien lamentó no haber cambiado de club, en busca de ritmo, algo que en Real Madrid, donde apenas es tenido en cuenta por el entrenador chileno Manuel Pellegrini, no encuentra.

Ayer, tras el 6 a 2 de Real Madrid ante Villarreal, trascendió que hubo negociaciones entre allegados del futbolista y dirigentes del Submarino Amarillo, y el pase podría darse en los próximos días.

Esa sería la primera reacción de Gago tras la charla con Maradona, y buscará en el equipo amarillo la continuidad y el ritmo de juego que le permita al entrenador cambiar de parecer y llevarlo a Sudáfrica.

Diego se encuentra en Madrid, en donde el sábado celebró junto a su familia el primer cumpleaños de su nieto Benjamín, hijo de Sergio Agüero y Gianinna Maradona.

16 Responses to Gago out of World Cup squad

  1. Chris says:

    I feel bad for Gago, he is/was one of my favorites when he was in boca and when he was transfered to RM.
    I wonder why he’s not playing, or why he’s lost his form (or if he even lost his form)

  2. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Chris, Are you a Boca fan?

  3. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Gago did suffer a considerable loss of form this season.

    In the first few months of the season Pellegrini told the Madrid board to not sell Gago as he figured that he would be in the lineup or at least be a part of the team but Gago really did fall off.

    He’s a good player though but I don’t think he has a future with Madrid. Gago really needs to move on to another club and regain his form.

  4. Chris says:

    LOL

    no believe it or not, im not, but for some reason, the best players normally come out of River or Boca
    I cant stand Boca actually, I only cheer for them when they play with a different country.

    Soy de NOB 🙂
    mi viejo es de rosario, so I guess I got brain washed to become un hincha de NOB as a kid. no shame to it though, i stay true to my colors..
    my second team i go for is River..
    im having a difficult time understanding why they are going thru a tuff time right now.. I also hope Buonanotte recovers his form well real soon.

    My dad is from rosario, and my mom is from Sicily (im sure the most of us are all the same, argentine and italian descent).
    but like most of us, i consider myself Argentine, even when people ask me, i say im from argentina, i guess im just use to it.
    If im not mistaken, i think ur the same as well right? born in the states, but Argentine parents???
    how long u been a River fan ??
    I dont think i’ve ever asked you, but what are ur thoughts on Almeyda coming back? i think he’s a soldier, i give the guy props for keeping up with the young guys..
    also, what are UR thoughts on Gago since we started out with this topic?

  5. pintadoazulblanco says:

    I see, you are a Leproso.

    No wonder you told me a while back that you wanted Bielsa back on the national team 🙂

    My family has friends from Rosario and I know they are really passionate fans.

    Have you ever been in Rosario the week of Newell’s vs Central. I know it’s an insane atmosphere.

    I was born & grew up in New York, both of my parents are from Buenos Aires. They grew up in Palermo but I have relatives all over the city, in Liniers, La Paternal, Versalles.

    My great grandparents are from Spain.

  6. pintadoazulblanco says:

    In my family there are alot of River fans, Independiente fans, a few Racing fans and yes, unfortunately, there are Bosteros too.

  7. pintadoazulblanco says:

    I’ve been a River fan a long time, almost all my life.

    I still can’t believe that Almeyda is back playing football. I can’t think of too many players that retire and then four years later come back to play again.

    I think that his best years though, are behind him.

    I think he’ll be a really good coach someday.

  8. Chris says:

    LOL,

    yes, im a Lepra, for LIFE !!!
    yeah, the atmosphere in Rosario is INSANE when either two teams play. i have to admit, NOB fans are alot crazier then Central fans. im assuming because most of NOB fans are what we call “villeros” LOL (please guys no offense to anyone ok just a joke). its unfortunate though, at times Its embarrassing because they dont know how to enjoy a game, a game that most of us are so pasionate about. its unfortunate when innocent, especially young kids get murdered over it.
    The last time I was out there for el clasico I was still young, and my cousins and family wouldn’t let me go cuz it was so dangerous, but every other time I went, they didn’t hve a match scheduled, but I have gone to a NOB match, let me tell you, it incredible !.
    I really hate to admit it, but my dream is to watch a match in la Bombonera. im serious.. i want to see river vs boca match there, only because how different the stadium is to others, and because from what I hear is when everyone chants, the place literally pulses. I just want to experience that.. how bout u ? ever been?
    Im shocked u remember my comment about Bielsa ?, lol, yup, i would give anything to get that coach back, i honestly think he’s an amazing coach, always comes out to win, regardless what kind of match it was !

    this goes out to our readers, has anyone met any of our players? any pictures that can be uploaded, just for show?

  9. pintadoazulblanco says:

    I’ve seen Boca’s stadium from the outside.

    On one of my trips to Argentina, one of my uncles drove me and a few friends of mine to La Boca and we hung out and we did make a stop there.

    I would never step foot inside La Bombonera.

    Yuk!!!

  10. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Despite what happened in 2002, I am still a Bielsa fan.

    Look at the job he’s done with Chile.

    He’s a great coach, without a doubt.

    Compared to the bipolar imbecile that is currently coaching Argentina, Bielsa is a genius.

  11. Chris says:

    LOL,

    I agree brother !

    my mind spins everytime I think about how bad the Team has gotten compared to prior years. you would think, with all the great players we have, we would be considered the best team in the world right now.. how wouldn’t want the players we have?!?
    im not trying to sound cocky, but its the truth, Argentina has the best strikers/forwards in the world at the moment.

  12. pintadoazulblanco says:

    Let’s see:

    Messi

    Higuain

    Lisandro Lopez

    Saviola

    Tevez

    Aguero

    Zarate

    Milito

    Cavenaghi

    Barrios

    Bergessio

    I really can’t think of any other country that has that many proven goal scorers to choose from.

  13. Chris says:

    EXACTLY !!!

  14. solein says:

    bye bye GAGO thank god we won’t see you in the wc lets
    hope that the other boca guy doesn’t make it as well

    GAGO never impressed me that much before and I just dont get all the fuss about him
    there is alot of a less known but more talented midfielders out there who deserve a chance like lucas biglia for Example

  15. pintadoazulblanco says:

    You’re right Solein, there are lesser known players and in some cases more talented than Gago who deserve a NT callup.

    I would mention Fabian Cubero in Velez, a fantastic player who does not receive any attention. I’m completely dumbfounded why he hasn’t been called up to the national team, not even on the national team with domestic players.

    I also like Franco Zuculini, he’s a really good central midfielder playing in Germany.

    I still think that Gago, when in form, is a national team player, but when there are players like Mascherano, Banega, Bolatti, and Cambiasso, he is not going to automatically be in the starting lineup.

  16. solein says:

    Zuculini is fantastic one of my favs at the moment He’s Got got this amazing energy moving all over the place
    such a wasted skill in a humble german club and still worse they dont let him play i tried to encourge other fans to watch for him he is still young so hopefully he will find something better than Hoffenheim soon

Leave a Reply

