World Cup dream for Insua

bbc.co.uk

World Cup finals dream for Insua

Liverpool defender Emiliano Insua admits he has one eye on the World Cup finals in South Africa next year.

The 20-year-old won his first cap for Argentina in their last gasp victory over Peru in October.

Insua told BBC Radio Merseyside: “It was very special to play because it was a crucial time for my country.

“I will never forget that I helped them to qualify for the World Cup, but I know I have to keep working hard for Liverpool first, then my country.”

Insua, who has been left out of the Argentina squad for Saturday’s friendly with Spain, has made the left-back position at Anfield his own this season after injuries to Fabio Aurelio and Andrea Dossena.

The Under-20 World Cup winner admits: “It’s been a very good season for me, I’ve played 16 games already, but I want to play more.

“I always want more, but the only thing I can do is keep working hard and look to the future.”

He added: “For every player, to play for your country is really special and I want to play in South Africa next year, but Liverpool comes first and if I play well for my club, then I hope that more games for Argentina will follow.”

4 Responses to World Cup dream for Insua

  1. Chris says:

    I really hope Diego gives this guy another chance soon, I really like his style of play.
    and I honestly have high hopes for this kid.

  2. ArgenPool says:

    As a Liverpool fan I can say Insua has progressed superbly over the past 18 months. At times last season he looked superb, composed, aware, fast, strong. At the end of last season he looked a little tires, but hes young and had played a few games, so I thought nothing of it.

    This season, he has ranged from being good to very poor. Lately his positional play has ben very weak, his awareness od players around him has really let him (and the team) down. He looks better going forward than he does at the back at the moment, although if he can rediscover his form from last season and times this season then he is a real contender for the starting left back spot in South Africa next year. But on current form, he will be lucky to retain his club spot, let alone force his way into Diegos WC 22.

  3. pintadoazulblanco says:

    I’d like to see Insua get some more playing time in order to have a better idea about him being in the WC squad.

    I’m looking forward to seeing Ansaldi play against Spain. Curious to know what Maradona sees in him.

    The left-back position remains an unsettled position. Maradona needs to decide on a player.

    The thought of Heinze as the starting left-back in the WC is horrifying.

  4. Chris says:

    unfortunetly ever since Sorin has left this spot open, no one has been able to fill in this position as great as he did.

    also curious, any reason why he didn’t bother calling up Zabaleta this time ???
    this would have been a great oppurtunity to watch him play with the team..

Leave a Reply

