Maradona on Cambiasso

Maradona was asked by Ole about a possible callup for el Cuchu Cambiasso and Maradona said the following:

“I don’t have him for my team. It’s a matter of tastes. I don’t have anything against the kid, on the contrary, I’ve known him since he was little, but no. Because of the position where Cambiasso plays, on the left side, it doesn’t seduce me.”

So, Maradona has no use for Cambiasso, who just completed his best season ever in Italy, but he has endless amount of praise for Jonas Gutierrez.

I am really baffled as to what Maradona sees in Gutierrez.

Too bad for Cambiasso who really does deserve a callup to the national team.

I think that he would be able to fill that role on the left side of the midfield alot better than Gutierrez, who is able to run alot, but does not contribute much to the teams attack and is very inconsistent with his marking.

What Argentina needs on the left side of the midfield is not a sprinter, it needs someone that can participate in the play buildup and cover that zone effectively.

Gutierrez will be playing in a second division league this season while Cambiasso continues his very successful run with Inter.

7 Responses to Maradona on Cambiasso

  1. utsav says:

    god knows what maradona wants to do with argentina

  2. wil mcvey says:

    My first memory of football is genuinely Mexico ’86 and Maradona scoring twice against England (I’m Scottish!), he became a national hero and I have him tatooed on my arm as he is my football hero. I have watched Cambiasso many times on TV and I have seen him play at the San Siro where I can genuinely say he is quite the faultless player. I love you Diego for given me football but like so many before and after you, Management is not for you! It’s Cambiasso’s moment to shine for his country and he is clearly a better player than Gutierrez.

  3. msi2 says:

    A few memories muchachos you have… Basile used Cambiasso so manu times, what did he bring? Nothing… Do you remember the game against Brazil (the Copa America final) or against Chile (the last Basile’s game)? Nothing… like Lucho or other players, they are fracasados.

  4. pintadoazulblanco says:

    I couldn’t disagree more.

    Cambiasso’s overall form with the national team has been good. Of course, not of all of his performances have been great but that can be said of any national team player.

    The Copa America Final is a poor example. The entire team was awful that day.

    I’m not arguing that Cambiasso should be the undisputed starter on the left side of the midfield.

    I’m saying that Cambiasso, based on his form with Inter this past season, deserves a call up and an opportunity in the lineup.

    Jonas Gutierrez, based on his form with his club and the national team, deserves neither.

  5. Chris says:

    I agree with you 100% pintadoazul.
    Cambiasso hussle’s.. Jonas to be honest with you, worries me.. he’s not consistant, like my last comment, I would prefer either Angel or Cambiasso on that side..

    another question for you ? do you think Papa has what it takes to be on the squad ???

  6. pintadoazulblanco says:

    I’ve really not been too impressed with Papa so far.

    I won’t hold the Bolivia game against him though because the entire team struggled with playing in the inhumane high altitude of La Paz.

    There’s a big void in the left back position and some new players do need to be looked at.

    Let’s see if he shows any improvements.

  7. sukhjit upal says:

    now that maradona’s flawed seiection of the team has been amply and brutally exposed by the germans its high time maradona should quit so that there is no more mudslinging as being a icon he doesn’t deserve this but coaching isn’t his cup of tea its a altogether different ballgame.Cambiasso,zanneti and coloccini omission from the squad is gonna rankle him deep down in his heart.The graceful exit is the only option left for this maestro.

Leave a Reply

