Messi Interview

In today’s Ole an interview with Lionel Messi.

Q – You’re always asked if you’ve become used to being pointed out as Maradona’s successor? But have you gotten used to being Messi?

M – Yes, the truth is I’ve become used to it. I deal with it calmly. When I leave the stadiums I live like a normal kid, like an average kid. People say Hello but I try to do what I always have. Sometimes, not everything I would like to do but I try not to deprive myself of anything. I go out with other kids, with friends, family.

Q – If 5 years ago someone told you that all these things would be happening to you, would you have said that they’re crazy?

M – (Laughs) I didn’t expect something like this, nobody does in reality. Everything happened very fast. My debut with Barcelona, the Champions League, becoming World Champion with the U-20 team, playing in the 2006 World Cup. Everything fast. The majority of those things were beautiful, except the injuries, that turned out to be unimportant things.

Q – The truth: your dad can reprimand you like any other kid or is it difficult because you are Messi?

M – No, if he has to say something to me, he does. I want to be just like any other kid. That’s why I would love to go to the Olympics, it must be real good to share things with other athletes. Right now, I have 3 tournaments under way with Barcelona, afterwards I would like to end the season in Beijing. I don’t give it any importance when they say that it is a Dream Team and things like that.

Q – You will be there with Riquelme. Do you prefer for him to always be there or would you like take over the leadership on the team?

M – When all the best players are there, it is better for me and for everyone. This U-23 can build a really good team, with great players, who’ve been playing professionally for a long time and play well. If we’re all there, it is the national team that wins. And I feel that shirt like it’s mine. That is why I always want to be there. That’s why I would have liked to have travelled to play against Guatemala but I was calm because an agreement was reached quickly with my
club due to my injury.

Q – Has Basile been what you expected? Before he took over as manager were you hopeful because of his offensive style?

M – I liked it and I’m thankful for the freedom he gives me every time I play with the national team. He’s always given me his trust, he told me to play calmly, free.

Q – Would you like to play in Boca or River before returning to Newell’s?

M – In either team. Mostly because I would like to experience Argentine football, the fans, the atmosphere before every game. I never had that luck and I do not want to miss out on that.

Q – Are there any bitter feelings towards River? You tried out there but had to leave because the club wouldn’t pay for the growth hormone treatments.

M – Yes, that’s what happened, but it’s over with. I couldn’t stay because of the cost of the treatments, the transfer belonged to Newell’s but I’m not bitter at all. Absolutely not.

Q – Look, now La Bruja Veron is going to try to bring you to Estudiantes.

M – (Laughs) It’s true. He’s treated me really well. The month that we spent during the Copa America he helped me fit in with the team. Just like in the World Cup, I was alone, because I don’t usually talk alot. But that’s why La Bruja was by my side, he was very important and I always thanked him.

Q – Anyhow, it appears that you are going to stay all your life with Barcelona.

M – I want to stay a long time with Barcelona. That is my idea, my intention. No one knows what can happen but that is my wish. I owe alot to Barcelona and for me, to remain there the rest of my life is a way of paying back.

Q – The necessary question: Do you believe that one day you’ll be like Maradona or that he is unrepeatable?

M – I don’t think there’ll be another one like Maradona. I hope that Argentina continues to produce great players but like Diego, it is very difficult.

One Response to Messi Interview

  1. The world cup is not far away. Bring it on.

Leave a Reply

